Getting the Caffeine Jitters!


Where have my powers gone!?

6 months ago I took the mammoth decision to make a major change in my lifestyle – I changed from regular to de-caf!

For a true caffeine addict this was a massive deal for me. I couldn’t cut it out of my life altogether – oh no, that would be like severing the power chord in my brain, or dehydrating one of my kids… if I had any… – but I made the change for good reason. I went through a rather unhealthy phase of drinking around 10 cups a day, sometimes as many as 15. Now, at the time I thought there was nothing wrong with this but as any medically trained professional will tell you, or anyone with half a brain, really, this ain’t exactly good for your health. Caffeine acts as a stimulant and causes your heart rate to increase. Glug 15 of those bad boys and you are looking at a rapid increase. I was giving my heart a work-out it didn’t need every day, just for the sake of that bittersweet deliciousness.

Not only did I cut the caffeine, I cut the coffee too; three cups a day, tops, with milk a lot of the time. And you know what – my heart is healthier. I kid you not, it has returned to a fairly regular pace! I say fairly regular, as I was chugging near incomprehensible volumes of the stuff, so just the smell of it is enough to send my ticker racing!

I hadn’t noticed at the time but I also became immune to the effects. My sleeping pattern had always been sporadic at best so I didn’t even factor that in, but for the first time in along while, today, I had a strong black coffee from one of my favourite local cafe’s, Flava. And oh dear god did I feel the effects. Imagine, I’m sitting across from my pal, when all of a sudden, BAM the rush hits me like a tonne of bricks and I’m light-headed, jabbering wildly about how, did you know, the amount of energy drink in a bomber drink is the equivalent of 3-4 cups of coffee, and how, did you know, the amount of energy drink one can of energy drink canbeupto15cupsofcoffee’sworthofcaffeine!!!!! Absolute madness.

So my advice to you is this – take it easy on the caffeine, and the caffeine will take it easy on you.

SSDD

Leave a Reply

